• Home
  • Audio
  • Vocals
  • Shark Hat - Don’t Say I Didn’t Warn You

Shark Hat - Don’t Say I Didn’t Warn You

Shark Hat - Don’t Say I Didn’t Warn You
  1. She Belongs to Me
  2. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  3. It Takes A Lot t\To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
  4. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
  5. Buckets of Rain
  6. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
  7. It Hurts Me Too*
  8. Emotionally Yours
  9. Mama, You Been On My Mind
  10. You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere
Note: Songs marked with an asterisk (*) are not composed by Bob Dylan

Kevin McDonald: guitar, vocals; Enzo Ricci: guitar, vocals; Steve Leroy: bass; Michael Parillo: drums
Recorded in March of 2006, these tracks are an attempt by Shark Hat to pay respect to Bob Dylan, not only as a songwriter and performer but as a recording artist. Dylan's freewheeling approach to recording eliminates the need for overdubbing and focuses on a specific performance of that song, that day. In today's Pro Tools world, this approach is increasingly rare, because the ease of fixing minor problems is extremely tempting. Getting the right vibe is the most important thing, and leaving in mistakes and "clams" is all part of the process.

Shark Hat has been practicing its craft for nearly 20 years, and it shows through precision playing and great songwriting, continuing in the tradition of great rock and roll bands. A tip of the (shark) hat comes by way of deep covers by such groups as the Meters, the Grateful Dead, the Spinners, and Led Zeppelin, and the list goes on. But what truly sets the band apart are its own original songs. After putting out its first, self-titled album as a quintet in 2004, the band went back to the drawing board and came back as a leaner, meaner four-piece. Two guitars, bass, and drums, with up to three singers on a given track, deliver a rootsy, jamming style that takes a little bit from many genres of music, breaks it all down, and puts it back together again into something new. Quoting the SH classic "Kentucky Woman," the centerpiece of the new Shark Hat II, we'll call it "rock-infused funk and country blues." Over the past several years, Shark Hat has spent time reinventing its sound, writing great songs, and playing shows at favorite haunts in New York, New Jersey, and Vermont. Now, with a new album of original music, the band is poised to deliver a fun and memorable musical experience to listeners hungry for well-crafted songs performed by a tight unit of inspired players.


  • Dylan Content: 9/10
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Bandcamp
  • Released: 2014
  • Country: USA

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.

  • 105,000+ cover versions
  • 800+ Cover Albums
  • Album Cover Covers
  • Draw Conclusions on the Wall
  • Magazine Covers
  • Mmmm... I love that Country Pie
  • Translations
  • Participate
  • Tribute bands
  • Tattoo Bob
  • All the latest news and additions
  • Subscribe to our Newsletter
  • Watch Video's
  • Milton Glaser Revisited
Auto repair Atlanta