• Home
  • Audio
  • Vocals
  • Nile, Willie - Positively Bob: Willie Nile Sings Bob Dylan

Nile, Willie - Positively Bob: Willie Nile Sings Bob Dylan

Nile, Willie - Positively Bob: Willie Nile Sings Bob Dylan
  1. The Times They Are A- Changin'
  2. Rainy Day Women Nos. 12 & 35
  3. Blowin' In The Wind
  4. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  5. I Want You
  6. Subterranean Homesick Blues
  7. Love Minus Zero/No Limit
  8. Every Grain Of Sand
  9. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
  10. Abandonned Love
Note: Songs marked with an asterisk (*) are not composed by Bob Dylan

“What struck me was how timely so many of the songs we played that night felt,” Nile explains. “These songs are still important and meaningful and still resonate in today’s world, and they’re a blast to play. I thought I could bring some good energy to them and thought it would be fun to rock them up a bit. It was a total labor of love. These songs are still great and need to be heard.

“I was a teenager in the ’60s, into all kinds of rock ’n’ roll, and I was knocked out by Bob’s music,” he recalls. “Nobody else was writing songs like that. They were interesting, funny, poignant, mystical, passionate, compassionate, sarcastic, idealistic, realistic, surrealistic … There was nothing remotely like it on the radio. He was one of a kind, and singlehandedly changed the conversation completely. Dylan led me to the poetry of the Beats, Walt Whitman, Rimbaud, and it was off to the races from there.”

Nile says that he wasn’t intimidated by the challenge of choosing an album’s worth of songs from Dylan’s voluminous songbook. “When I got the invitation to sing four Dylan songs at City Winery, I stayed up late one night and just looked at all the songs in his catalog. I wanted to see if there were some songs I could pull off that would be fun to play live, and I wanted to bring them to life in a way that was believable and respectful. I just went by feel and instinct. I just picked up my guitar and went song by song and knocked out the arrangements pretty quickly. I didn’t want to force anything. If a song didn’t come together right away, I moved on to something else.”

To bring the songs to life in the studio, Nile tapped his longtime producer Stewart Lerman, as well as calling on noted artist James Maddock, who had accompanied him at the City Winery tribute, to add guitar and backing vocals on the sessions. Maddock suggested Spin Doctors member Aaron Comess, who became drummer on the project. With longtime Nile band members Matt Hogan and Johnny Pisano on board, the sessions took place at Comess’ Brooklyn studio, His House – Innsbruck Studio, where Nile and company recorded all of the album’s basic tracks and lead vocals in two days.


  • Dylan Content: 10/10
  • Format: CD
  • Label: River House Records
  • Released: 2017
  • Country: US
  • Language: English

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.

  • 105,000+ cover versions
  • 800+ Cover Albums
  • Album Cover Covers
  • Draw Conclusions on the Wall
  • Magazine Covers
  • Mmmm... I love that Country Pie
  • Translations
  • Participate
  • Tribute bands
  • Tattoo Bob
  • All the latest news and additions
  • Subscribe to our Newsletter
  • Watch Video's
  • Milton Glaser Revisited
Auto repair Atlanta